Before ordering, make sure that the house model complies with your municipality's zoning by-laws, as Plans Design disclaims all responsibility in this regard. House plans and electronic CAD and PDF plans are non-returnable and non-refundable. No deliveries are made to post office boxes. The delivery time for our plans is usually 2 to 5 business days, except when a longer delay is indicated in the detailed sheet of the chosen plan on our website.

OPERATING CONDITIONS

All texts on the Plans Design site, logos, concepts, graphics, images, information and documents, as well as the selection, arrangement and display thereof, remain the exclusive property of Publications Balsam inc. and are protected by the Copyright Act.

Plans Design (Publication Balsam inc.) hereby authorizes you to consult, view, copy, download and print the documents that are available for this purpose on our site, on the express condition that these documents are used solely for personal, non-commercial purposes; that they are not modified or redistributed; and that any copyright, trademark, service mark or other proprietary notice is reproduced as it appears in these documents.

Anyone wishing to obtain authorization to use elements protected by the Act, service marks or trademarks must make a request to this effect by contacting us.

COPYRIGHTS RELATED TO THE USE OF IMAGES AND DESIGN PLANS

YOU CANNOT RESELL YOUR DESIGN PLAN, USE AN ILLUSTRATION, PHOTO OR FLOOR FOUND ON OUR SITES.

All plans displayed on our websites and/or created by Plans Design are protected by copyright law. It is therefore illegal to copy, reproduce or use, without permission, the plans, drawings and illustrations from this website or any other publication. It is also illegal to copy or redraw an already existing house.

It is forbidden to resell a Plans Design plan,

whether you built your house or not.

In any market or to anyone.

It is not permitted to copy, modify or resell a drawing or plan found in the various media. Each of these practices is illegal and constitutes a violation of the Copyright Act. Each offence is punishable by prosecution for up to $100,000 each..

Therefore, it is essential to always purchase a set of plans or a license available at Plans Design, to build them or to use the illustrations for promotional purposes. The purchase of a set of plans authorizes you to build a single house (unless you are a contractor and acquire the .pdf version of the plan) and it is also illegal to resell your plan after use.

WHAT IS A COPYRIGHT

In very simple terms, the term "copyright" means "right to reproduce". Only the owner of a work (very often its creator) has the right to produce or reproduce that work or to allow someone else to do so. Copyright rewards and protects a creative business by giving it the exclusive right to publish or use the work in any way it chooses. It can also choose not to publish your work and prevent anyone else from doing so.

COPYRIGHTABLE WORKS

Copyright applies to any original work of a literary, dramatic, musical or artistic nature. Each of these general categories covers a very wide range of creative works. The following are a few examples:

Artistic works: paintings, drawings, maps, photographs, sculptures and architectural works.

The word "original" is crucially important in the definition of a copyrightable work. It goes without saying that no one can obtain copyright in a work created by another person.

COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT

A copyright grants you the exclusive right to produce or reproduce your work, be it by publishing, performing, etc., or by any other means. Under this right, you are the only person who can authorize these activities.

Anyone who reproduces your work without your permission is infringing on your copyright; that person is violating your rights. Of course, the reverse is also true: if you publish, perform or copy someone else's work without their permission, you are infringing on that person's rights.

 

One of the forms of copyright infringement is plagiarism, where a person passes off a third party's work that he or she has copied as his or her own. An obvious example of plagiarism would be publishing or selling a plan made by another person under your own name. Plagiarism can also involve using a substantial part of another person's work. An example of this would be copying a plan by simply changing its dimensions or some architectural elements.

Source: Canadian Intellectual Property Office.

ARTICLES OF LAW

Here are the main sections of the law that define architectural plans as works protected by copyright law:

Copyright Act ( R.S., 1985, c. C-42 )

R.S., c. C-30, s. 1.

DEFINITIONS

The definitions in this section apply in this Act.

"Artistic work" includes paintings, drawings, sculptures, architectural works, engravings or photographs, artistic works by craftsmen, as well as graphics, maps, plans and compilations of artistic works.

COPYRIGHT IN THE WORK

Copyright in the work shall include the exclusive right to produce or reproduce the whole or a substantial part of the work in any material form, to perform or represent the whole or a substantial part of the work in public and, if the work is unpublished, to publish the whole or a substantial part of the work; this right shall also include the exclusive right :

COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT: LIABILITY

Any person who infringes copyright shall be liable to pay the owner of the right that has been infringed damages and, in addition, such proportion as the court may consider equitable, of the profits made by him in committing the infringement as has not been taken into account in the determination of damages.

Avant de commander, assurez-vous que le modèle de maison respecte bien les règlements de zonage de votre municipalité, car Plans Design se dégage de toutes responsabilités à cet effet. Les plans de maison et les plans électroniques CAD et PDF, ne sont pas retournables ni remboursables. Aucune livraison n’est faite aux boîtes postales. Le délai de livraison pour nos plans est habituellement de 2 à 5 jours ouvrables, sauf quand un délai plus important est indiqué dans la fiche détaillée du plan choisi, sur notre site Internet.

CONDITIONS D’UTILISATION

Tous les textes du site de Plans Design, logos, concepts, graphiques, images, informations et documents ainsi que la sélection, l’arrangement et l’affichage de ceux-ci, demeurent la propriété exclusive de Publications Balsam inc. et sont protégés par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur.

Par la présente, Plans Design (Publication Balsam inc.) vous autorise à consulter, regarder, copier, télécharger et imprimer les documents qui sont disponibles à cet effet sur notre site, à la condition expresse que ces documents ne soient utilisés qu’à des fins personnelles, dans un but non commercial ; qu’ils ne soient ni modifiés ni redistribués ; et que tout copyright, marque de commerce, marque de service ou autre avis de propriété soit reproduit tel qu’il apparaît dans ces documents.

Toute personne qui désire obtenir l’autorisation d’utiliser des éléments protégés par la Loi, marques de service ou marques de commerce doit impérativement en faire la demande, en nous rejoignant à cet effet.

DROITS D’AUTEUR RELIÉS À L’UTILISATION DES IMAGES ET PLANS DE PLANS DESIGN

VOUS NE POUVEZ REVENDRE VOTRE PLAN PLANS DESIGN, UTILISER UNE ILLUSTRATION, UNE PHOTO OU UN PLANCHER RETROUVÉS SUR NOTRE SITES.

Tous les plans affichés dans nos sites Internet et / ou créés par Plans Design sont protégés par la loi sur les droits d’auteurs. Il est donc illégal de copier, reproduire ou d’utiliser, sans autorisation, les plans, dessins et illustrations tirés de ce site web ou de toute autre publication. Il est également illégal de copier ou redessiner une maison déjà existante.

Il est interdit de revendre un plan Plans Design,

que vous ayez construit ou pas votre maison.

Sur quelque marché que ce soit ou à quiconque.

Il n’est pas permis de copier, modifier ou revendre un dessin ou un plan trouvé dans les différents médias. Chacune de ces pratique est illicite et constitue une violation à la Loi sur les droits d’auteur. Chaque infraction est passible de poursuite pouvant atteindre 100 000$ chacune.

Par conséquent, il est essentiel de toujours faire l’achat d’un jeu de plans ou d’une licence disponible chez Plans Design, pour en faire une construction ou pour utiliser les illustrations à des fins de promotion. L’achat d’un jeu de plans vous autorise la construction d’une seule maison (à moins d’être un entrepreneur et d’acquérir la version .pdf du plan) et il est aussi illégal de revendre votre plan après utilisation.

QU’EST-CE QU’UN DROIT D’AUTEUR

En termes très simples, l’expression « droit d’auteur » signifie « droit de reproduire ». Seul le titulaire d’une oeuvre (très souvent son créateur) a le droit de produire ou de reproduire cette oeuvre ou de permettre à une autre personne de le faire. Le droit d’auteur récompense et protège une entreprise de création en lui accordant le droit exclusif de publier ou d’utiliser cette oeuvre de la manière qui lui convient. Elle peut également choisir de ne pas publier votre oeuvre et empêcher quiconque de le faire.

ŒUVRES POUVANT FAIRE L’OBJET D’UN DROIT D’AUTEUR

Le droit d’auteur s’applique à toute oeuvre originale de nature littéraire, dramatique, musicale ou artistique. Chacune de ces catégories générales regroupe un éventail très large d’oeuvres de création. Voici quelques exemples :

Œuvres artistiques: peintures, dessins, cartes géographiques, photographies, sculptures et œuvres architecturales.

Le mot « original » revêt une importance cruciale dans la définition d’une oeuvre pouvant faire l’objet d’un droit d’auteur. Il va en effet de soi que nul ne peut obtenir un droit d’auteur pour une oeuvre créée par une autre personne.

VIOLATION DU DROIT D’AUTEUR

Un droit d’auteur vous accorde le droit exclusif de produire ou de reproduire votre oeuvre, que ce soit en la publiant, en l’exécutant, etc. En vertu de ce droit, vous êtes la seule personne qui peut autoriser ces activités.

Quiconque reproduit votre oeuvre sans votre autorisation s’adonne à la violation du droit d’auteur; cette personne porte atteinte à vos droits. Il va de soi que la réciproque est également vraie : si vous publiez, exécutez ou copiez l’oeuvre d’une autre personne sans avoir obtenu d’abord son autorisation, vous portez atteinte aux droits de cette personne.

 

Une des formes que peut prendre la violation du droit d’auteur est le plagiat, qui consiste pour une personne à faire passer pour sienne l’oeuvre d’un tiers qu’elle a copiée. Un exemple évident de plagiat consisterait à publier ou vendre un plan conçu par une autre personne sous votre propre nom. Le plagiat peut également consister à utiliser une partie substantielle de l’oeuvre d’une autre personne. Un exemple de cette méthode consisterait à copier un plan en se contentant d’en modifier les dimensions ou quelques éléments architecturaux.

Source : Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada.

ARTICLES DE LOI

Voici les principaux articles de loi qui définissent les plans d’architecture comme étant des oeuvres protégées par la loi sur les Droits d’auteur :

Loi sur le droit d’auteur ( L.R., 1985, ch. C-42 )

S.R., ch. C-30, art. 1.

DÉFINITIONS

Les définitions qui suivent s’appliquent à la présente loi.

«Oeuvre artistique » inclut les oeuvres artistiques les peintures, dessins, sculptures, oeuvres architecturales, gravures ou photographies, les oeuvres artistiques dues à des artisans ainsi que les graphiques, cartes, plans et compilations d’oeuvres artistiques.

DROIT D’AUTEUR SUR L’OEUVRE

Le droit d’auteur sur l’oeuvre comporte le droit exclusif de produire ou reproduire la totalité ou une partie importante de l’oeuvre, sous une forme matérielle quelconque, d’en exécuter ou d’en représenter la totalité ou une partie importante en public et, si l’oeuvre n’est pas publiée, d’en publier la totalité ou une partie importante; ce droit comporte, en outre, le droit exclusif :

VIOLATION DU DROIT D’AUTEUR : RESPONSABILITÉS

Quiconque viole le droit d’auteur est passible de payer, au titulaire du droit qui a été violé, des dommages-intérêts et, en sus, la proportion, que le tribunal peut juger équitable, des profits qu’il a réalisés en commettant cette violation et qui n’ont pas été pris en compte pour la fixation des dommages-intérêts.